Members’ Poems

Poetry News 2016The Members’ Poems competition sets Poetry Society Members the task of writing a poem or poems on a theme chosen by a leading poet.

The winners of our Summer 2017 competition on the theme of ‘Forecast’, judged by Jean Sprackland, are: Susan E. Holland; Julie-ann Rowell; Laura Foley; Holly Hopkins; Marilyn Longstaff and Jennie Carr – our congratulations to all of them.

All poems published in Poetry News are also eligible for the Hamish Canham Prize and the Anne Born Prize each year. The latest winners are: Ramona Herdman for her poem ‘My name is Legion: for we are many’ (Hamish Canham); and Tess Jolly (Anne Born).

Poetry News Autumn 2017 competition: ‘Freedom’

Photo: tommy@chau via VisualHunt / CC BY.
Photo: tommy@chau via VisualHunt / CC BY.

‘Freedom’, the theme for National Poetry Day, Thursday 28 September 2017, is also the theme of the autumn 2017 members’ poems competition. Our judge is Amali Rodrigo, who was born in Sri Lanka and lives in London. Rodrigo has won numerous awards for her work and is currently an Associate Lecturer and PhD candidate at Lancaster University. Of her first collection, Lotus Gatherers (Bloodaxe, 2016), John Glenday wrote: “What makes Rodrigo a truly remarkable poet? In part, it’s the breadth and intelligence of her vision… in part, the deftness with which she can work that vision into a world we can marvel at, but also recognise. This is a world of paradoxes – exotic and familiar, a deeply spiritual world which delights in passion; that celebrates love, but does not hesitate to focus on unsettling histories of gender violence.”

How to enter

  • Deadline: 7 August 2017; entries must be unpublished as of this date.
  • Send no more than two poems, each max. 40 lines, typed on A4, with your membership number, not name and address, at the foot of each.
  • All entrants will be contacted.
  • It’s easiest to enter online at:
  • Enter by post: ‘Freedom’, Poetry News, 22 Betterton St, London WC2H 9BX
  • Winners appear in Poetry News and win books and entry into the Hamish Canham and Anne Born Prizes. Selected poems are also submitted for the Forward Prize.
  • Only paid-up members of The Poetry Society can enter this competition.