Zaffar Kunial highly commended in Forward Prizes for ‘Prayer’, first published in The Poetry Review

Zaffar Kunial
Zaffar Kunial. photo: Hayley Madden

Zaffar Kunial’s poem ‘Prayer’, first published in The Poetry Review 106:4, has been highly commended in the 2017 Forward Prizes for Poetry. The poem will be published this autumn in The Forward Book of Poetry 2018.

The list of highly commended poets includes Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2017 judge Kayo Chingonyi, who also co-edited the summer 2016 issue of The Poetry Review, and National Poetry Competition 2017 judge Pascale Petit. The list, chock full of members of The Poetry Society and contributors to The Poetry Review, is as follows:

Rachael Allen, Simon Armitage, Rachel Boast,  Andrea Brady, Alan Buckley, Elizabeth-Jane Burnett, John Burnside, Michelle Cahill, Vahni Capildeo, Becky Cherriman, Kayo Chingonyi, Theodoros Chiotis, Maya Chowdhry, Elisabeth Sennitt Clough, Kelvin Corcoran, Keki Daruwalla, Rishi Dastidar, U.S. Dhuga, Douglas Dunn, Steve Ely, John Foggin, Miriam Gamble, Philip Gross, Jodie Hollander, Wayne Holloway-Smith, Rosalind Jana, Zaffar Kunial, Shara McCallum, Niall McDevitt, Momtaza Mehri, Jessica Mookherjee,  Paul Muldoon, André Naffis-Sahely, Daljit Nagra, Miriam Nash, Charlotte Newman, Sean O’Brien, Pascale Petit, Jacob Polley, Nisha Ramayya, Michael Symmons Roberts, James Sheard, Penelope Shuttle, Safiya Sinclair, Karen Solie, George Szirtes, Laura Watson, Chrissy Williams, Alex Wong, Karen McCarthy Woolf.

Congratulations to all the highly commended poets. We look forward to reading your work in The Forward Book of Poetry 2018 very soon!

23 August 2017