Zillah Bowes wins the Wordsworth Trust Prize

Zillah Bowes

The top three in the inaugural Wordsworth Trust Single Poem Prize are Poetry Society Members, chosen by the general public from a shortlist of fifteen selected by Mimi Khalvati and Ian Duhig. 

  • 1st Prize: ‘End of August’ by Zillah Bowes
  • 2nd Prize: ‘The Waves’ by Chrissy Banks
  • 3rd Prize: ‘Checkpoint’ by Maeve Henry

The winners will be awarded cash prizes of £1000, £300, and £200, and will be invited to read a selection of their work alongside the winners of the main competition at the Wordsworth Trust. ‘End of August’, ‘The Waves’, and ‘Checkpoint’ will also be published in the North magazine in 2017.

Read more, including the winning poems

31 July 2017